The Art Lover’s Hideaway

The Art Lover's Hideaway 1
I’m in denial. The epic Mad City is being torn down at the end of the week and I DON’T WANT IT TO GO! *sniff*

I’m planning on walking the roads a few more times and taking some more pics before the week is over but I’m writing now to share with you the city’s latest event which will be taking place until the end of days. Typically for a MadPea Production it’s an innovative one – the Art Gacha Festival has filled the park with some amazing original work from incredible artists and it is truly something to behold. For perhaps the first time ever there is the opportunity to try your luck for your favourite pieces through gacha machines – and swap and gift and all that yumminess that is part and parcel of the popular gacha craze.

I used some of the works available as inspiration to furnish a skybox – something I don’t actually do as often as I’d like! I’m so happy with the results that I’m leaving it rezzed for as long as I can before I need the prims again. In pic 1 you can see the beautiful work of paramparamm and in pic 2 are the wonderful sculptures of Harter Fall. I wanted to show the variety of art available – and I think these items do that well.

There really is as wealth of talent to be discovered at Mad City right now – other contributing artists are RAG Randt, Sabbian Paine, Alia Baroque, Thea Maiman, Quinn Reinerman, Ole Etzel, Fuschia Nightfire, Moeuhane Sandalwood, and Eupalinos Ugajin – and they reflect a wide range of styles and mediums. You can read more on the MadPea blog if you feel so inclined.

I love art in (and out) of Second Life and I would be so excited to see more of this kind of event which brings outstanding work out of the galleries and exhibitions and straight to the people. Not that I don’t like galleries and exhibitions (I really do!) but I don’t always know where to find them and they don’t always present the opportunity to stumble across an artist you haven’t heard of before, fall in love with their work and then be able to visit their gallery or flickr in the way that an event like this does.

The MadPea Gacha Art Festival will run until May 31st so if you’d like to take the opportunity to experience the event you’ll need to visit this week. It’s also the time to say your goodbyes to (or discover) the sim as it, too, will close at the end of the week.

Farewell, Mad City.. you will be much missed!

The Art Lover's Hideaway 2
Credits

The Art
Picture (left, pic 1): ‘Tree 7‘ – paramparamm Papp (@Mad City Art Gacha Festival) – L$61 per play*
Picture (middle, pic 1): ‘Tree 3‘ – paramparamm Papp (@Mad City Art Gacha Festival) – L$61 per play
Picture (right, pic 1): ‘Naked 2‘ – paramparamm Papp (@Mad City Art Gacha Festival) – L$61 per play (rare)*
Sculpture 1 (left, pic 2): ‘Guard Monk Alien‘ – Harter Fall (@Mad City Art Gacha Festival) – L$50 per play*
Sculpture 2 (right, pic 2): ‘Derwit Monk Alien‘ – Harter Fall (@Mad City Art Gacha Festival) – L$50 per play*
(*these were review copies but I had a few to choose from and I have been playing the gachas myself)

The Build
Skybox:  ‘The Chatham Loft – Dark (with surround)‘ – Trompe LoeilL$250

The Furnishings
Chair: ‘Arm Chair 1.02‘ – 19 Motorcycle L$0 – Freebie
Rug: ‘Rug (Naturel)‘ – ZiganaL$50
Box: junk. product box
Tape Recorder: ‘ATR (Worn)‘ – Standby Inc.L$50 per play (Gacha)
Wall Light: ‘Pulley Light‘ – junk.L$100
Mannequin: ‘Dress Form‘ – Remarkable OblivionL$0 – VIP Group Gift [L$50 to Join]
Light: ‘Tripod Theatre Light (Bronze)‘ – ConsignmentL$50 – Fifty Linden Friday (still out at time of post)
Books & Papers: Zigana product box

Windlight Settings
Pics 1 & 2: Annan Adored – Light Explosion III
Pic 3: Annan Adored – Dusty

The Art Lover's Hideaway 3

About Chiana Oh
Second Life® resident Chiana0. Creator of original and whimsical home decor at Widdershins (formerly by Chiana Oh).

One Response to The Art Lover’s Hideaway

Leave a comment