Concerned Bloggers Association – Literacy

Despite spending nearly all my time on the computer, reading is definitely my favourite hobby. Books have shaped my life from as far back as I can remember; they have informed the person that I am today. I honestly cannot imagine my home without its bookshelves filled with teetering piles of loved and much-revisited books and others, too many others, still yet to be read.

Perhaps contrary to expectation, my passion for second-hand bookshops and libraries has not dwindled with the release of online bookstores and e-readers – indeed I find libraries have become more vibrant and interesting than ever before and my first date with my now husband was at the epic Barter Books – but I embrace the access to an even wider range of reading material that new technology has afforded with projects such as the fantastic Project Gutenberg which makes old texts available for free, or the fun book-release site BookCrossing where you can find and track books from all over the world!

There are even social networks (such as LibraryThing and goodreads) dedicated to being places where book-lovers can gather together, and Second Life has not been left out of this equation; there are many wonderful places to visit that embrace the wonderful world of books, here are just a few of them:

Albatross Coffee House – home to the LED Book Club and a free bookworm avatar!
Bookstacks – ‘where booklovers meet’ – there are always events being arranged here including a poetry open mic.
Open Books – at the exemplary Four Bridges Project.
Book Island – publishing island for book-lovers and writers.

I hope the above places, or one of the many others out there, inspire you as much as they do me.. one of the first places I ever visited in Second Life was Shakespeare & Co., based on the real-life place in Paris: the sim is gone now, but never forgotten ❤

_____________

This Public Service Announcement was brought to you by the Concerned Bloggers Association.  If you would like to become involved, please contact Marleen Vaughan for more information.

About Chiana0
I can usually be found mooching about Second Life trying to improve my virtual photography & building skills.

4 Responses to Concerned Bloggers Association – Literacy

  1. I’m going to use all these sites you referenced to get my historical fiction ON! *does party dance*

  2. Pingback: For LOVE of Books! | Concerned Bloggers Association

  3. awwwww you read with birdy friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

